Donkin Lighthouse and Memorial

The Donkin Reserve is one of Port Elizabeth’s iconic tourism sites and combines history and public art.  The pyramid, called the Donkin Memorial, was commissioned by Sir Rufane Donkin in 1820 as a memorial to his wife Lady Elizabeth Donkin after whom he also named the town.  The lighthouse, actually called the Hill Lighthouse, was built in 1861 as a warning signal to approaching ships.  Although not in use anymore it offers one of the best views anywhere in the city from the top.

Leave a Reply